Board Members

Disciplinary Board of the Hawai'i Supreme Court 201 Merchant Street, Suite 1600 Honolulu, Hawai'i 96813 Telephone (808) 599-1909 www.odchawaii.com

Chairperson Hon. Clifford L. Nakea (Ret.) Vice Chairperson Hon. Leslie A. Hayashi Secretary Nathan J. Sult, Esq. Treasurer Joy M. Miyasaki, Esq.

Filing Clerk Faye F. Hee

Board Counsel Bradley R. Tamm, Esq.

FORMAL OPINION NO. 24

It is improper for an attorney or a law firm to give gifts or lend anything to a judge, official, or employee of a tribunal if acceptance is prohibited by law or would appear to a reasonable person to materially impair the judge's independence, integrity, impartiality, temperament, or fitness to fulfill the duties of judicial office. HPRC 8.4(f); HRPC 3.5(a); RCJC Rule 3.13. Without limiting the foregoing, this prohibition expressly applies to Christmas or other holiday gifts or loans by attorneys and law firms.

This opinion does not prohibit an individual lawyer from making a gift or a loan to a judge, official, or employee of a tribunal if there is a bona fide, appropriate social relationship justifying such a loan or gift and if such a loan or gift is not otherwise in violation of the Hawai'i Rules of Professional Conduct or the Code of Judicial Conduct.

- HRPC 8.4(f) It is professional misconduct for a lawyer to knowingly assist a judge or judicial officer in conduct that is a violation of applicable rules of judicial conduct or other law.
- HRPC 3.5(a) A lawyer shall not seek to influence a judge, juror, prospective juror, discharged juror, or other decision maker by means prohibited by law.
- RCJC Rule 3.13(a) A judge shall not accept any gifts, loans, bequests, benefits, or other things of value, if acceptance is prohibited by law or would appear to a reasonable person to materially impair the judge's independence, integrity, impartiality, temperament, or fitness to fulfill the duties of judicial office.

The Disciplinary Board's mission is to maintain the integrity of the legal profession and protect the public from professional misconduct by attorneys.



James L. Branham, Esq. Gary M. Farkas, Ph.D., MBA Diane D. Hastert, Esq. Philip D. Hellreich, M.D. Shelton G.W. Jim On, Esq. Harrilynn K. Kame'enui, Esq. Hon. Evelyn B. Lance (Ret.) Philip H. Lowenthal, Esq. Jeffrey P. Miller, Esq. Carolene N. Kawano Neely, M.S.W., M.Ed. Jeffrey S. Portnoy, Esq. Irwin J. Schatz, M.D. Judith A. Schevtchuk, Esq. Asst. Chief Eugene Uemura, (Ret.), MA.Ed. DATED: Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, May 22, 1979

C. Frederick Schutte Chairperson, Disciplinary Board

UPDATED: Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, June 28, 2001 Carroll S. Taylor Chairperson, Disciplinary Board

UPDATED: Honolulu, Hawai'i, March 19, 2015

auford & Makea

Hon Clifford L. Nakea (Ret.) Chairperson, Disciplinary Board

FORMAL OPINION NO. 24, Page 2.